Which designer made history at the CFDA Awards 2017?

Which designer made history at the CFDA Awards 2017?


Site: Lucie Clark

The first Monday in June is reserved for the CFDA to award their gold medals to designers who contributed to American fashion over the past 12 months and this year, a Belgian designer made history

Considered one of the most prestigious fashion award ceremonies in the world, Monday June 5 at the Hammerstein Ballroom in Manhattan New York saw every designer, model and celeb worth their custom Louboutin's heading down the red carpet to see who the esteemed Council of Fashion Designers of America would anoint as the top of the American fashion pops.

For the first time in 24 years one designer took out both womenswear and menswear categories: Belgian designer Raf Simons for Calvin Klein. The only other person to win both categories in the same year was Calvin Klein himself back in 1993. Simons only joined American label Calvin Klein last year so this win is a huge achievement, demonstrating how much impact Simons has made on the American fashion landscape in such a short period of time.

Other highlights included make-up powerhouse Pat McGrath being honoured with the Founder's Award and US Vogue Editor-in-Chief Anna Wintour presenting the Fashion Icon Award posthumously to her friend and counterpart, Franca Sozzani, the Editor-in-Chief of Italian Vogue. Wintour fought back tears during a moving tribute to Sozzani - who passed away last year. In a six-degrees of fashion-world twist Sozzani's son is engaged to Wintour's daughter, Bea Schaffer.

Anna Wintour at the CFDA Awards 2017

The full list of winners and honourees are:

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Raf Simons for Calvin Klein

Menswear Designer of the Year: Raf Simons for Calvin Klein

Swarovski Award for Positive Change: Kenneth Cole

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Rick Owens

Founder's Award: Pat McGrath

International Award: Demna Gvasalia for Vetements and Balenciaga

Board of Directors' Tribute: Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem, Janelle Monáe

Fashion Icon Award: Franca Sozzani

Accessory Designer of the Year: Stuart Vevers for Coach

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent: Fernando Garcia and Laura Kim for Monse

Which designer made history at the CFDA Awards 2017? (фото 1)

Related articles

Buro 24/7 Selection