Australian Fashion Foundation Awards: and the winners are…

Australian Fashion Foundation Awards: and the winners are…


Site: Samantha Ledlin

Remember these names: the Australian Fashion Foundation has announced the winners of its annual internship program

The Australian fashion industry flocked to Pier One Sydney overnight (December 19) to celebrate the best of fashion's up-and-comers. Fashion designers Lucy Dickinson of RMIT and Mikala Tavener Hanks of UTS were announced as the 2017/18 winners of the Australian Fashion Foundation Scholarship Award. Each were awarded a financial grant of $20,000 as well as a six month internship at a global fashion house in the USA or Europe.

The awards were judged by Alison Veness (10 Magazine); Kellie Hush (Harper's BAZAAR Australia); fashion designer Nicky Zimmermann; fashion designer Dion Lee; fashion consultant and former VOGUE editor Nancy Pilcher, Kara Hurry; and AUSFF Co-Founder Malcolm Carfrae.

"Both designers had a strong vision with collections feeling very innate and personal," said, designer Dion Lee. Nicky Zimmerman said "Mikala's collection was so refined and showed such restraint. You can see it on the floor in Barneys."

Based in New York, the Australian Fashion Foundation was launched in 2008 by Carfrae and Julie Anne Quay to help and support emerging Australian designers, photographers, stylists, writers and art directors gain international experience.

Remember these names as there's a chance we'll be seeing their designs on the runway in the coming years. Watch this space. 

Australian Fashion Foundation Awards: and the winners are… (фото 1)

Related articles

Buro 24/7 Selection